Mizzix Cost Reduction and X Spells

Commander Deck Help forum

Posted on Jan. 8, 2019, 5:47 p.m. by DrkNinja

If I have 5 experience counters and I have Mizzix out do I HAVE to have all my spells reduced by exactly 5?

I'm wondering because if I can choose the amount then I will play Spell Burst otherwise you can't really counter things in the late game.

pskinn01 says... #2

If a spell has an x in its casting cost. You decide what x is when first putting it on the stack, then add additional costs such as buyback, then figure in things that increase/reduce costs.

January 8, 2019 7:49 p.m. Edited.

Arvail says... #3

Mizzix and costs are really strange sometimes if you're new to lots of stacking changes. Look up some info on reductions and increases and how spell costs are determined before playing.

Above info is correct. You're not locked into x spells. You choose x.

January 8, 2019 9:06 p.m.

DrkNinja says... #4

I thought so but I'm a bit rusty on my judge training

January 9, 2019 8:18 a.m.

Please login to comment