Split Screen

Split Screen

Artifact

When Split Screen enters the battlefield, shuffle your library and deal it into four libraries. If anything refers to your library, choose one of your libraries for it.

Play with your libraries' top cards revealed.

When Split Screen leaves the battlefield, shuffle your libraries together.

Browse Alters View at Gatherer

Printings View all

Set Rarity
Unstable (UN3) Rare

Combos Browse all

Legality

Format Legality
Leviathan Legal
Limited Legal
Casual Legal
Unformat Legal
2019-10-04 Legal

Latest Decks as Commander

Split Screen Discussion

Rhadamanthus on [Unset] What happens when someone …

6 months ago

You still have 4 different libraries and you get to choose which one you interact with for drawing cards and other library-related effects.

Here are the relevant rules:

611.2 A continuous effect may be generated by the resolution of a spell or ability.
611.2a A continuous effect generated by the resolution of a spell or ability lasts as long as stated by the spell or ability creating it (such as "until end of turn"). If no duration is stated, it lasts until the end of the game.

In your example, the continuous effect saying you have 4 libraries and you get to choose how to interact with them is generated by the resolution of Split Screen's first triggered ability. It doesn't specify a duration or end-point, so it lasts forever.

Rhadamanthus on [Unset] What happens when someone …

6 months ago

Looking at each ability separately:

  1. You still have four different libraries. This is an effect created as the triggered ability resolves and doesn't depend on you keeping control of Split Screen.
  2. You don't play with the top card of your libraries revealed, and the player who took control of Split Screen does. A static ability like this is only talking to whoever currently controls the card.
  3. If Split Screen leaves the battlefield while someone else controls it, that means they also control this last ability when it triggers. They won't shuffle anything together (unless they split their own screens earlier in the game) and neither will you.

Boza on [Unset] What happens when someone …

6 months ago

As long as you controlled Split Screen as it entered the battlefield, you get its effect. Afterwards, if another player gets Split Screen with Lay Claim - nothing happens - the card did not leave the battlefield. If the card leaves the battlefield while under the control of another player, again, nothing will happen, as the card's current control does not have multiple libraries.

Once again this is speculative silver border land, so take any non-gatherer, non-Maro rules explanations with a grain of salt.

comfuzzled on [Unset] What happens when someone …

6 months ago

Ok so Split Screen says: When Split Screen enters the battlefield, shuffle your library and deal it into four libraries. If anything refers to your library, choose one of your libraries for it. Play with your libraries' top cards revealed. When Split Screen leaves the battlefield, shuffle your libraries together.

So when Split Screen leaves the battlefield I shuffle my libraries together. And when I have Split Screen I can choose which library to interact with when I need to interact with one (Draw, Search, etc.).

What happens if someone, for sale of example, casts Lay Claim on my Split Screen?

It never leaves the battlefield. But I don't control it.

What library or libraries do I interact with?

xaarvaxus on Melek EDH

1 year ago

My choice would be Split Screen probably as its an 'Un' and thus not legal in Commander but your local FLGS or playgroup may not care about that.

SteelSentry on Split Screen+more or less

2 years ago

Changing the line of text "If anything refers to your library, choose one of your libraries for it" to "choose zero of your libraries", they would not be able to interact with their libraries until end of turn (no drawing, scrying, tutoring, etc).

Alternatively, if it is your own Split Screen, you could increase it by one, which, as far as I can tell, would allow you to draw/scry/tutor from two different libraries at once for that turn (according to rule 120.1, A player draws a card by putting the top card of his or her library into his or her hand). I'm not a judge, so feel free to correct me about the ramifications of changing it to "choose two of your libraries".

Entrei on Split Screen+more or less

2 years ago

So when I was playing unstable draft, an opponent played More or Less targeting my Split Screen. What exactly happens?