Yidris + Overloaded cast (The other way around)
Asked by squittron 8 years ago
I know that if you cascade into a spell like Cyclonic Rift with Yidris, Maelstrom Wielder, you cannot cast it for its overload cost, but what if I casted it for its overload cost and then triggered a cascade. Do I reveal till CMC 1 or less or is it 6 or less? I think the latter.
Thanks in advance
Cyclonic rift's text for overload is an alternative cost that can be paid to cast said spell, not unlike a kicker cost being paid.
It does not influence a card's converted mana cost and as a result you must use the Cmc at the top right for the Cascade trigger.
November 6, 2016 9:20 a.m.
The CMC is the sum of all of the mana in the name section of the card. I don't think there's any way in all of MTG to alter the CMC of a card without ,, or in the casting cost.
November 6, 2016 9:59 a.m.
So there'll be a definite answer: It's CMC 1 or less.
November 6, 2016 12:41 p.m.
Rhadamanthus says... #5
A card's mana cost is specifically the symbols in the upper-right corner of the card, and the converted mana cost is the sum of those symbols. The only way to change those symbols is to somehow turn the card into a copy of a different card. An overloaded Cyclonic Rift will still have a mana cost of and CMC = 2.
November 7, 2016 10:38 a.m.
Thank you all. I was a bit confused by Yidris' wording: that costs less instead of has a lower CMC.
November 7, 2016 2:28 p.m.
Rhadamanthus says... #7
Yeah, sometimes that can happen with reminder text (the italicized text inside parentheses). Reminder text isn't true rules text. Rather, it's meant to give a relatively complete explanation of something that would take too much space to write out in its full technical version. This shortened explanation will be fine 99% of the time, but there are cases where the lack of certain technical details might cause confusion.
SupremeSnowSpork42 says... #1
Cascade means, When you cast this spell, exile cards from the top of your library until you exile a nonland card whose converted mana cost is less than this spell's converted mana cost.
November 6, 2016 9 a.m.