When commanders become beetles or frogs.
Asked by JoJaBi 11 years ago
If a commander/general in an EDH game in enchanted by something like Darksteel Mutation , or is a victim of Turn to Frog or some similar effect, is that insect or frog still my commander? Should a commander enchanted with Darksteel Mutation deal combat damage, would it register as commander damage?
RussischerZar says... Accepted answer #2
http://magiccommander.com/rules.php
Being a Commander is not a characteristic[MTG CR109.3], it is a property of the card. As such, "Commander-ness" cannot be copied or overwritten by continuous effects, and does not change with control of the card.
Examples: A Body Double copying a Commander in a graveyard is not a Commander. A Commander which is affected by Cytoshape, or is face down, is still a Commander.
November 22, 2013 7:16 a.m.
Okay, great! So commanders can't stop being commanders. Thanks guys.
ChiefBell says... #1
I may be wrong but I believe that, even when a cards types are changed, if it was your commander before, it is still your commander afterwards. So yes it would count as commander damage.
November 22, 2013 6:23 a.m.