Wheel of sun and moon vs Leyline of the Void?
Asked by Sov92 13 years ago
Ok so lets say mike brings out a Leyline of the Void out of his opening hand just like the card says he can do. A few turns later Frank his opponent brings out a Wheel of Sun and Moon and enchants himself with it. On Mike's turn he destroys a creature on Frank's side of the field. Leyline of the Void says the creature goes into exile while Wheel of Sun and Moon says it goes on the bottom of the deck. How does this conflict work out? Where does Franks dead stuff go now?
rckclimber777 says... #2
These are both replacement effects
419.9a If two or more replacement or prevention effects are attempting to modify the way an event affects an object or player, the affected object's controller (or its owner if it has no controller) or the affected player chooses one to apply. Then the other effect applies if it is still appropriate. If one or more of the applicable replacement effects is a self-replacement effect (see rule 419.6d), that effect is applied before any other replacement effects. If two or more players have to make these choices at the same time, choices are made in APNAP order (see rule 103.4). Example: Two permanents are in play. One is an enchantment that reads "If a card would be put into a graveyard, instead remove it from the game," and the other is a creature that reads "If [this creature] would be put into a graveyard from play, instead shuffle it into its owner's library." The controller of the creature that would be destroyed decides which replacement to apply first; the other does nothing.
Since it is APNAP order that they apply as they resolve the NAP (Frank would let his wheel of sun and moon first. This would send his creature to the bottom of the library. Then the leyline of the void would not apply as nothing was sent to the graveyard and thus the effect would in a sense fizzle.
May 16, 2012 11:52 a.m.
rckclimber777, you are incorrect in your reasoning.
APNAP order is only used if two or more players have to make a choice regarding multiple replacement/prevention effects. The only player who makes any choices in this scenario is Frank, since he is the controller of the affected object.
Additionally, you're using outdated rules. Try these.
May 16, 2012 11:58 a.m.
rckclimber777 says... #4
lol even when you think you know the rules, you can still screw up reasoning.
May 16, 2012 12:29 p.m.
Thanks guys. Frank getting to choose is what i thought it was but I wanted to be sure. Never hurts since I own both cards to know how they would play against each other.
mafteechr says... Accepted answer #1
616.1. If two or more replacement and/or prevention effects are attempting to modify the way an event affects an object or player, the affected object's controller (or its owner if it has no controller) or the affected player chooses one to apply, following the steps listed below. If two or more players have to make these choices at the same time, choices are made in APNAP order (see rule 101.4).
The steps are irrelevant.
The controller (Frank) of the affected object (destroyed creature) chooses which of the replacement effects to apply first. If he's a good player, he'll choose to apply Wheel of Sun and Moon
first, putting the creature on the bottom of the library. Then, he applies Leyline of the Void
. However, it cannot, so it does nothing, and the creature remains on the bottom of the library.
May 16, 2012 11:43 a.m.