what is the cmc of a x card and of a flipped card

Asked by permhole96 13 years ago

whats the cmc of a x card and a flipped card

Epochalyptik says... Accepted answer #1

Spells with X in their costs are handled differently in different zones. On the stack, X is whatever was paid for it. In all other zones, X is 0.

For example, you cast BanefireMTG Card: Banefire with X=5. On the stack, the spell's converted mana cost is 6. When it resolves and goes to your graveyard, its CMC is 1.

A transformed card has no converted mana cost, so it is treated as CMC=0. That's why Ratchet BombMTG Card: Ratchet Bomb is so useful against werewolf decks - you can leave it on 0 charge counters and destroy all transformed werewolves.

February 21, 2012 2:40 p.m.

permhole96 says... #2

ok, then i have another question. if i flip like to a and not flip him? or will they both still die

February 21, 2012 2:44 p.m.

Epochalyptik says... #3

They both die. The Planeswalker Uniqueness Rule is NOT the same as the Legend Rule.

The Legend Rule relies on the names of the cards whereas the Planeswalker Uniqueness Rule relies on their subtypes. If any two planeswalkers with the same subtype are in play at the same time, they are both put into their owner's graveyards as a state-based action.

February 21, 2012 2:46 p.m.

permhole96 says... #4

ahh, good to know.. thx bro!

February 21, 2012 2:49 p.m.

This discussion has been closed