What is Ninjutsu?
Asked by SUPERNECROMAN 14 years ago
well i was looking through some ninja cards and some enchanments for synergy and i found training grounds does ninjutsu count as an activated ability :? just wondering because if it does it is worth running IMO
xeratheenigma says... #2
Mistblade Shinobi and Training Grounds for reference.
yes ninjutsu is an activated ability, but for training grounds to reduce the ninjutsu cost it would have to read "activated abilities of creature cards you control cost up to 2 less"
so it actually won't work for Ninjutsu, because Ninjustu is an activated ability of a card in your hand, not of a creature you control.
the comp rules:
702.46. Ninjutsu
702.46a Ninjutsu is an activated ability that functions only while the card with ninjutsu is in a players hand. Ninjutsu [cost] means [Cost], Reveal this card from your hand, Return an unblocked creature you control to its owners hand: Put this card onto the battlefield from your hand tapped and attacking.
702.46b The card with ninjutsu remains revealed from the time the ability is announced until the ability leaves the stack.
702.46c A ninjutsu ability may be activated only while a creature on the battlefield is unblocked (see rule 509.1h). The creature with ninjutsu is put onto the battlefield unblocked. It will be attacking the same player or planeswalker as the creature that was returned to its owners hand
March 24, 2011 2:14 a.m.
Just in case you want another rule clarification on that
702.46c A ninjutsu ability may be activated only while a creature on the battlefield is unblocked (see rule 509.1h). The creature with ninjutsu is put onto the battlefield unblocked. It will be attacking the same player or planeswalker as the creature that was returned to its owners hand.
March 24, 2011 2:16 a.m.
Wow, completely missed the Training Grounds part, thought you only wanted to know more about ninjutso, but yeah as xeratheenigma said for a card to be a creature it needs to be a permanent and while a card is in your hand it's nothing more than that a card in your hand.
March 24, 2011 2:27 a.m.
SUPERNECROMAN says... #5
i kinda had a feeling about that that was goin to be the answer not really wat i wanted to hear but thanks guys :/
Tezz says... Accepted answer #1
Nijutso is a creature ability you play from a creature in your hand. When an opponent chooses not to block an attacker from you, you may choose to pay the Ninjutso cost and swap the creature in your hand with the unblocked creature you have on the field putting the Ninjutso card tapped and attacking in it's place.
The other creature returns to your hand and you take an -almost- guaranteed strike with a potentially more dangerous card.
Here's the rule definition:
702.46a Ninjutsu is an activated ability that functions only while the card with ninjutsu is in a players hand. Ninjutsu [cost] means [Cost], Reveal this card from your hand, Return an unblocked attacking creature you control to its owners hand: Put this card onto the battlefield from your hand tapped and attacking.
March 24, 2011 2:14 a.m.