What happens with Lifeline + Confusion in the Ranks + Bronze Bombshell

Asked by ThePuolimieli 3 years ago

Hi all!

I'm really wondering if this creates an insta win combo or it just deals 14 damage to the opponent.

What happens if I already have both Lifeline and Confusion in the Ranks out on the battlefield and I play Bronze Bombshell?

Will Lifeline keep looping in Bronze Bombshell or will it stop after the first time it returned the card in your end step?

Thank you already for the help! Kr, ThePuolimieli

Dracoson says... Accepted answer #1

To make it clear what is going to happen and why, I'm going to start by sharing Lifeline's oracle text.

"Whenever a creature dies, if another creature is on the battlefield, return the first card to the battlefield under its owner’s control at the beginning of the next end step."

Once you are already in the end step, you are past "the beginning of the end step" and will have to wait until the next player's turn for Lifeline to return Bronze Bombshell. So if you play it during your main phase, Confusion in the Ranks will trigger, and you will exchange control with another creature (or artifact), and the player who gets it will sacrifice it. Then it will return at the beginning of the next upkeep to your control, where Confusion in the Ranks will trigger again, and it gets exchanged again, and sacrificed again. Now it has to wait until the following end step to return.

September 22, 2021 9:34 a.m.

ThePuolimieli says... #2

Oh, thank you so much Dracoson!

I missed to read the "at the beginning of the next end step."

And just to make sure, this will then mean that it will return on the opponents end step, correct?

Kr, ThePuolimieli

September 22, 2021 2:17 p.m.

Dracoson says... #3

It's easy to do since it isn't physically printed on the card. It's always a good idea to go to either Gatherer or Scryfall to get the up to date Oracle text instead of just depending on the card. Also the Rulings will answer some of the less-than-obvious common issues.

As to your question, Yes, it will return to do it again on the opponent's end step to do it again on each end step until something interrupts the process.

September 22, 2021 3:31 p.m.

ThePuolimieli says... #4

Funnily enough, I first time I found the card was in Gatherer and I tend to use the Oracle text rather than the card buuut... Dunno how I just misread it :D

Thank you so much.

September 24, 2021 10:35 a.m.

Please login to comment