What happens if I manifest a sorcery/instant/enchantment and want to turn it face up?
Asked by KanyeQ 8 years ago
So I understand that manifesting lets me put a stated amount of cards from the top of my library onto the battlefield as 2/2 creatures, and that I may turn these cards face up for their mana/morph costs.
How would this work for an instant, enchantment or sorcery? If someone casts "negate" could I respond by paying a blue mana and turning my 2/2 manifested "dispel" card face up?
Or, say it's an enchantment that was manifested, could I pay its cost on my turn and turn it face up and play it and now have an enchantment on the board?
Manifest only allows you to pay the casting cost to turn creatures face up. As mentioned, if the card has a morph ability, you can use that even if the manifested card isn't a creature card. You can also attempt to turn any face down cards face up in a couple extra ways, notably Ixidor, Reality Sculptor. If the ability targets manifested permanent card, it turns face up properly. If however you try to turn an instant or sorcery card face up, you instead reveal it and leave it face down as a 2/2 creature.
April 14, 2017 4:54 a.m.
701.31b Any time you have priority, you may turn a manifested permanent you control face up. This is a special action that doesn't use the stack (see rule 115.2b). To do this, show all players that the card representing that permanent is a creature card and what its mana cost is, pay that cost, then turn the permanent face up. The effect defining its characteristics while it was face down ends, and it regains its normal characteristics. If the card representing that permanent isn't a creature card or doesn't have a mana cost, it can't be turned face up this way.
Rules from wizards stated on the last sentence. Non-creature cards can't turn face-up.
somebodyrandom says... #1
Exept for Lumithread Field and Zoetic Cavern, which have morph abilities, you can't turn non-creature morph/manifest cards face up. It does work pretty much the way you said for those two though if you use their morph ability though.
April 14, 2017 2:58 a.m.