What happens if a Spellskite with no auras on it redirects to itself a Daybreak Coronet?
Asked by Chino90 9 years ago
Does it get attached, fizzles or still enchants the original target?
GoblinsInc says... Accepted answer #2
Sorry, to be clear, it means that the Coronet will resolve normally, targetting its original target. If that original target is still a legal one, it'll enchant it on resolution.
April 14, 2016 11:32 p.m.
Raging_Squiggle says... #3
For future reference, it's always worthwhile to first check the Gatherer for rulings that might answer your questions.
6/1/2011 You can activate Spellskites ability even if Spellskite wouldnt be a legal target for the spell or ability. However, the target of that spell or ability will remain unchanged.
April 15, 2016 1:09 a.m.
I checked it, but still wanted to be sure if that made him an ilegal target, because that rule also applies to spells like discards, counterspells, etc.Since this is an aura, it would be a legal target at first glance. I wasnt sure if the "enchanted with another aura" requisite was enough to make it illegal.
Thank you
GoblinsInc says... #1
Spellskite is an illegal target (since it has no auras on it, and Daybreak Coronet was cast) so nothing happens.
114.6a. If an effect allows a player to "change the target(s)" of a spell or ability, each target can be changed only to another legal target. If a target can't be changed to another legal target, the original target is unchanged, even if the original target is itself illegal by then. If all the targets aren't changed to other legal targets, none of them are changed.
April 14, 2016 11:31 p.m.