Villainous Wealth and bestow

Asked by Quadsimotto 4 years ago

If i cast a Villainous Wealth for four as the X and the top four cards are Herald of Torment , Eidolon of Countless Battles Nighthowler and Hopeful Eidolon . Can i cast the herald first then bestow the three other on to the herald since the bestow cost is four CMC rather than cast them as individual creatures? I know reading the card and all but i am just wondering if this is legal as far as the stack goes. And please be specific for me.

Epochalyptik says... Accepted answer #1

No.

First, Villainous Wealth requires that if you cast any of the exiled cards, you cast them without paying their mana costs. This is an alternate cost, and you may only pay one alternate cost per spell. Since bestow is also an alternate cost, you can't bestow any of the cards you cast with Villainous Wealth .

Second, there's no bestow CMC. CMC is always derived from the mana cost, which is the value printed in the upper right corner of the card.

Third, even if you could bestow them, you need to choose targets on casting, which means you choose them while Herald of Torment is still a spell and therefore an illegal target for Auras.

November 4, 2014 9:39 p.m.

nighthawk101 says... #2

No.

When casting cards with Villainous Wealth , you cannot cast them for their bestow cost.

November 4, 2014 9:39 p.m.

Quadsimotto says... #3

Thank you

November 4, 2014 9:43 p.m.

WormFrizzer says... #4

You cant cast them as auras, because that would be casting those cards as a specific mode that requires paying the bestow cost. But, even as stack goes this is illegal, because you cast and place all 4 cards on the stack at once(in chosen order), and casting them as auras would require having Herald of Torment resolved and on the battlefield so that you can cast and choose a target for the other 3.

November 4, 2014 9:43 p.m.

This discussion has been closed