using Stoneforge Mystic
Asked by kevinmtg24 14 years ago
so i always thought that when you played Stoneforge Mystic you could not use her ability that makes her tap right away because she has summoning sickness but someone told me otherwise. So can you play her, then pay 1W and tap her to play the equipment that you fetched?
BrightGreenLine says... #2
Technically, the 'summoning sickness' rule only applies to creatures that weren't under your control at the beginning of your upkeep. If you manage to take control of an opponent's creature during their turn, you will be able to tap and attack with it on your turn because it was under your control when your upkeep began.
April 24, 2011 3:07 a.m.
Which is why Act of Treason style cards have to give creatures haste - if you haven't controlled the creature since the beginning of your upkeep, the creature will have summoning sickness and can't attack or use abilities with the 'tap' symbol in their costs.
Epochalyptik says... Accepted answer #1
No. Stoneforge Mystic is affected by summoning sickness unless you have a way to give her haste. Therefore, you can only activate her ability if you have continuously controlled her since your last turn.
April 24, 2011 2:19 a.m.