Two (or more) Prince of Thralls?

Asked by TowerOfBad 13 years ago

So, someone played Prince of Thralls , fun cards.

Another person played Clone to make a copy of it.

So now there are two Prince of Thralls , who gets the permanent that goes to a graveyard that is the opponent of BOTH Prince of Trall owners?

sporkife says... Accepted answer #1

(The following assumes you are playing in counterclockwise turn order)

The owner of the permanent essentially gets to choose because of the pay life clause. If they pay no life (because they don't want to, or because they can't) then the player with a Prince of Thralls closest to the active player's right side gets the permanent because their trigger went on the stack last and so will resolve first, and the other trigger will fizzle. However, they may pay 3 life to remove the trigger on top of the stack, in which case other player with a Prince of Thralls will get the permanent. They can also pay 6 life and get it into their graveyard.

June 9, 2011 6:09 p.m.

Whoever is the last player whose turn comes up. In a multiplayer game, you use APNAP order, and all the nonactive players put their spells and effects on the stack in turn order. Let's take a 4-player game, for example. Players B and D have a Prince of Thralls while Player A has Mimic Vat . It's Player C's turn, and he kills something on Player A's board. Player C will put any relevant effects on the stack first, then Player D will put his Prince of Thralls trigger on the stack, Player A will put Mimic Vat on, and then Player B will put his Prince of Thralls on. B's Prince will then resolve first, stealing the creature before both A and D have a chance to do anything. The card will no longer be in the graveyard so it can't be stolen by the Mimic Vat or by Player D's Prince.

Rules:

101.4. If multiple players would make choices and/or take actions at the same time, the active player (the player whose turn it is) makes any choices required, then the next player in turn order (usually the player seated to the active player's left) makes any choices required, followed by the remaining nonactive players in turn order. Then the actions happen simultaneously. This rule is often referred to as the "Active Player, Nonactive Player (APNAP) order" rule.

June 9, 2011 6:13 p.m.

Rhadamanthus says... #3

sporkife's answer is more accurate in this situation, because with Prince of Thralls , it's the owner of the thing getting stolen who makes the choice while the ability resolves, not the controller of the stealing effect (like in the case of Mimic Vat ).

The abilities are put onto the stack in turn order, so the Prince with the "farthest" turn from the active player will have its ability on top. If the owner of the affected card pays no life, that "farthest" Prince's controller will get the card, and the ability of the other Prince will lose track of it - "fizzling" (being countered by the rules) only happens when a targeted spell or ability loses all its targets before resolution, and the Prince trigger doesn't have any targets, so the owner can still pay life for that trigger if he really wants to for some reason. If the owner pays 3 life, the card will escape the "farthest" Prince but get snatched up by the second. If the owner pays 6 life, 3 for each ability, the card stays in the graveyard.

June 10, 2011 9:43 a.m.

the same thing would happen if you had more than one copy of him

June 10, 2011 9:48 p.m.

This discussion has been closed