Trinisphere changes alternate costs or not?
Asked by IPyro92 13 years ago
If there is a Trinisphere on the field and someone wants to use Force of Will does Trinisphere change the alternate cost of discarding a card into discarding +3 or just +3 or it doesn't change it at all?
Siegfried says... Accepted answer #1
From the Oracle rulings on Trinisphere: "Trinisphere's ability affects the total cost of the spell. It is applied after any other cost increasers or cost reducers are applied: First apply any cost increases. Next apply any cost reducers. Finally look at the amount of mana you have to pay. If it's less than three mana, you'll pay three mana."
This would imply that, yes, even if someone wanted to use Force of Will's alternate cost, they would still be required to pay 3 mana to cast it.
June 26, 2011 3:33 p.m.