Trample, Combat, and Removal
Asked by Nighthawk86 13 years ago
Does an attacking creature with Trample, which becomes blocked, but then has the creature blocking it become removed from combat via destruction, bounce, etc., still deal damage to the opponent is if it wasn't blocked?
Epochalyptik says... #2
Yes.
A creature with trample may assign combat damage to a player, regardless of whether it's blocked or unblocked, so long as it has deal lethal damage to each of its blockers. If it is blocked, but the blocking creature is removed from combat prior to the combat damage step, then the creature with trample may assign all its combat damage to the defending player or planeswalker.
Rules quote:
702.18c If an attacking creature with trample is blocked, but there are no creatures blocking it when damage is assigned, all its damage is assigned to the player or planeswalker its attacking.
November 6, 2011 11:51 a.m.
It goes like this:
Declare attackers. You declare card:Ludevic's Abomination.
Each player passes priority.
Declare blockers. Opponent blocks card:Ludevic's Abomination with Child of Night .
AP gets priority. You cast Unsummon targeting Child of Night .
NAP get priority. No responses.
Unsummon returns Child of Night to the opponent's hand. *for all purposes, card:Ludevic's Abomination is still considered blocked.
Combat damage steps. Because card:Ludevic's Abomination is blocked but has trample, it must assign lethal damage to each of its blockers before it may assign damage to a player. Lethal damage in this case is 0, so all 13 damage goes through to the opponent.
Penumbra says... Accepted answer #1
Yes, the creature with trample needs to assign enough damage to a creature to kill it in order to assign the rest to the defending player, if a creature is removed after blockers are declared then the trample creature doesent need to assign damage to the creature and all the damage goes through.
November 6, 2011 10:14 a.m.