Trading Post + Volatile Rig
Asked by Demyx 11 years ago
Using Trading Post 's third ability, can you sacrifice Volatile Rig and then return it to your hand at the same time? Thanks!
Yes, you can.
Sacrificing an artifact is part of the cost, so Volatile Rig is already in the graveyard by the time the ability is placed on the stack.
October 29, 2013 12:32 p.m.
No, you cannot. Casting a spell or activating an ability follows 601.2a-601.2h in order. 601.2c is when you choose targets, but 601.2g is when you pay costs. Volatile Rig will not be in the graveyard yet when targets are chosen.
601.2c The player announces his or her choice of an appropriate player, object, or zone for each target the spell requires. A spell may require some targets only if an alternative or additional cost (such as a buyback or kicker cost), or a particular mode, was chosen for it; otherwise, the spell is cast as though it did not require those targets. If the spell has a variable number of targets, the player announces how many targets he or she will choose before he or she announces those targets. The same target cant be chosen multiple times for any one instance of the word target on the spell. However, if the spell uses the word target in multiple places, the same object, player, or zone can be chosen once for each instance of the word target (as long as it fits the targeting criteria). If any effects say that an object or player must be chosen as a target, the player chooses targets so that he or she obeys the maximum possible number of such effects without violating any rules or effects that say that an object or player cant be chosen as a target. The chosen players, objects, and/or zones each become a target of that spell. (Any abilities that trigger when those players, objects, and/or zones become the target of a spell trigger at this point; theyll wait to be put on the stack until the spell has finished being cast.)
601.2g The player pays the total cost in any order. Partial payments are not allowed. Unpayable costs cant be paid
October 29, 2013 12:46 p.m.
I suppose, since there is no spacing between "sac creature" and return artifact. Oh well, still good in my deck if there's a Rig in the graveyard. Do you know if when Volatile Rig explodes, will the explosion hit planeswalkers? Seems like one of those gray areas where a planeswalker might not be considered a "player" in that particular instance.
October 29, 2013 12:54 p.m.
I suppose I'll tag you, raithe000, since you seem to be more familiar with the rules than I.
October 29, 2013 12:59 p.m.
Yes, you can choose to redirect that damage to a planeswalker rather than have the damage dealt to the player
October 29, 2013 1:01 p.m.
Rhadamanthus says... #8
Planeswalkers are never "considered a player". If a source you control would deal non-combat damage to an opponent, you can choose to redirect that damage (all or none) to one planeswalker he controls. Most of the time players shortcut this process by just saying something like "burn your Jace", but they're not actually targeting Jace with the effect.
Targets are chosen before costs are paid, so if you're sacrificing Volatile Rig to pay the cost of activating Trading Post then it's not yet in the graveyard at the time you would choose a target for the ability.
October 29, 2013 1:07 p.m.
So even though it says "each", I can choose to redirect the damage to my opponent to their planeswalker instead?
October 29, 2013 1:08 p.m.
Rhadamanthus says... #11
Same end result. For each opponent who controls a planeswalker, you choose whether the damage goes on that opponent or one of his planeswalkers.
October 29, 2013 1:08 p.m.
Oh. I always thought that you could only redirect the damage if it was a damage source that I could redirect, such as Lightning Bolt or a creature attacking. Thanks, that helps.
October 29, 2013 1:23 p.m.
Rhadamanthus says... #13
I'm not sure what you mean by "a damage source that I could redirect".
You can't redirect combat damage from creatures. When you declare a creature as attacking, you have to specify whether it's attacking a player or a planeswalker. You can read up on the Planeswalker rules here.
October 29, 2013 1:27 p.m.
I mean a source of damage that I control where it's going, or is hitting something in specific. I was not aware that something that does damage to everything to be redirected to planeswalkers. Now I do. :)
Demyx says... #1
This is the deck I'm asking for:
October 29, 2013 12:23 p.m.