Thragtusk flicker and Oblivion Ring

Asked by Banwar 12 years ago

What happens if I have a Thragtusk in play and my opponents tries to use an Oblivion Ring on it but I decide to flash an Restoration Angel in response to the ETB trigger of the O-ring? Will both the new Thragtusk , the beast token and the angel be possible targets for the O-ring trigger?

Thanks :)

tricide says... #1

No. Oblivion Ring targets Thragtusk . Restoration Angel comes into play and you choose to activate the ability. The ability goes on the stack, on top of the Oblivion Ring , and you use it on Thragtusk . When Thragtusk comes back into play, it is essentially a 'new' Thragtusk . Because of this,Oblivion Ring tries to target the 'old' Thragtusk , which now does not exist and the spell fizzles. You still get the 3/3 beast and gain 5 life.

The Oblivion Ring can't re-target on its own.

October 28, 2012 7:24 a.m.

Rhadamanthus says... Accepted answer #2

The target of a triggered ability is chosen when that ability is first put onto the stack, not later when it's resolving. If a target of a spell or ability goes missing (because it changed zones, for example) or becomes otherwise illegal (hexproof or protection, for example), the target doesn't get re-chosen.

Blinking your Thragtusk with Restoration Angel causes the Oblivion Ring 's ability to lose track of it because it changed zones. If all the targets of a spell or ability are missing or otherwise illegal when it comes time for it to start resolving, that spell/ability gets countered by the rules.

October 28, 2012 8:17 a.m.

Banwar says... #3

Thank you for your help

October 28, 2012 11:14 a.m.

This discussion has been closed