swords and double strike

Asked by Wizard of the Damned 14 years ago

If I equip a Mirran Crusader with Sword of War and Peace and deal damage to my opponent with both strikes from the crusader, would the sword's ability trigger twice?

Tysnatch says... Accepted answer #1

Yes. The ability triggers whenever it deals combat damage to a player, and double strike hits them twice.

June 13, 2011 5:44 p.m.

gromly42 says... #2

tysnatch is quite right.

June 13, 2011 6:05 p.m.

doesnt all combat damage resolve at the same time because of the 2010 rule change

i miss the old rules

June 14, 2011 1:25 a.m.

Siegfried says... #4

It does, but what first strike and double strike do is create two separate damage steps in the combat phase. First strike and double strike creatures do their damage in the first step, then effects get resolved, priority passes etc. Double strikers and creatures without either of these abilities deal damage in the second step.

June 14, 2011 4:41 a.m.

This discussion has been closed