Stacking a Triggered and Activated Ability

Asked by DemonDragonJ 1 year ago

if a player controls both a Dockside Chef and a Warteye Witch and sacrifices one of those creatures to the chef's ability, can they decide the order in which the creatures' abilities are put onto the stack?

Gidgetimer says... #1

No, they can not. The first step of activating an ability includes putting it on the stack. Paying costs comes later in the activation process, and a players doesn't receive priority, and therefore triggers put on the stack, until after the entire activation process is done.

602.2a The player announces that they are activating the ability. If an activated ability is being activated from a hidden zone, the card that has that ability is revealed. That ability is created on the stack as an object that’s not a card. It becomes the topmost object on the stack. It has the text of the ability that created it, and no other characteristics. Its controller is the player who activated the ability. The ability remains on the stack until it’s countered, it resolves, or an effect moves it elsewhere.

May 14, 2023 6:50 p.m.

DemonDragonJ says... #2

Gidgetimer, so, which ability would be put on the stack first, and which ability would resolve first?

May 15, 2023 9:09 a.m.

Gidgetimer says... Accepted answer #3

The activated ability goes on the stack before costs are paid. It is already on the stack when the trigger triggers. The triggered ability will be put on the stack above the activated ability the next time a player would receive priority.

The triggered ability will therefore resolve before the activated ability.

In this scenario you will scry and then draw.

May 15, 2023 7:33 p.m.

DemonDragonJ says... #4

Gidgetimer, that is very good, because that is exactly how I was hoping that it would work; thank you, very much.

May 16, 2023 8:17 p.m.

Please login to comment