Skill Borrower-->Merieke Ri Berit

Asked by Human_Tragedy 13 years ago

If Skill Borrower is under my control for a few turns, and reveals Merieke Ri Berit, can I steal an opponents creature? And does the creature get destroyed at my next untap step?

rckclimber777 says... #1

Once an activated ability is activated it is separate from the source that it was originally from. In this case skill borrower can tap and steal an opponent's creature. You gain control of it now as long as you control skill borrower. (the name is replaced in the ability). The ability does not require skill borrower to maintain that ability. If you lose the skill borrower then you lose the creature.

January 27, 2012 6:18 p.m.

Rhadamanthus says... Accepted answer #2

When a card uses its own name to refer to itself in an ability, it really means "this thing right here", and if another card gains the ability, the use of the name will also mean "this thing right here". The creature will be destroyed if Skill BorrowerMTG Card: Skill Borrower leaves the battlefield or becomes untapped.

January 27, 2012 6:53 p.m.

The second question "And does the creature get destroyed at my next untap step". I don't feel those responses fully satisfy.

My take was that since the borrower reads "Skill Borrower has all activated abilities of" and merieke has only one activated ability; That is (T): Gain control of target creature for as long as you control "borrower". I believe this period indicates a new ability. Correct me if im wrong. But this second sentence; When "borrower" leaves the battlefield or becomes untapped, destroy... Is a triggered ability and does not apply.

Outcome: You would never destroy target creature with the borrowed Merieke Ri BeritMTG Card: Merieke Ri Berit ability on Skill BorrowerMTG Card: Skill Borrower or Havengul LichMTG Card: Havengul Lich. Rather you would transfer control back only if you no longer control "borrower", otherwise you could tap untap tap take control of as many creatures you want as long as you still have the ability. Seems like a great merieke combo

March 28, 2012 5:51 p.m.

Rhadamanthus says... #4

A line break would indicate a new and separate ability. The text starting with "When..." is part of the activated ability, and indicates a delayed triggered ability that's created when the activated ability is activated.

112.2c An object may have multiple abilities. If the object is represented by a card, then aside from certain defined abilities that may be strung together on a single line (see rule 702, "Keyword Abilities"), each paragraph break in a card's text marks a separate ability. If the object is not represented by a card, the effect that created it may have given it multiple abilities. An object may also be granted additional abilities by a spell or ability. If an object has multiple instances of the same ability, each instance functions independently. This may or may not produce more effects than a single instance; refer to the specific ability for more information.

March 29, 2012 9:02 a.m.

This discussion has been closed