Seraph of the sword stops trample?
Asked by RIFFIK 11 years ago
If say a 10/10 trample came at me and i blocked would Seraph of the Sword prevent all of that damage so the trample wouldn't move on to me or other creatures?
nobu_the_bard says... Accepted answer #2
No, the attacking creature doesn't "know" this is the case. It will assign "lethal" damage to the Seraph of the Sword (in this case, 3 damage) then the remaining damage tramples onto the defender player (assuming there is only one blocker).
This question comes up with Fog Bank all of the time.
From the Comp Rules: (emphasis mine):
702.19b The controller of an attacking creature with trample first assigns damage to the creature(s) blocking it. Once all those blocking creatures are assigned lethal damage, any remaining damage is assigned as its controller chooses among those blocking creatures and the player or planeswalker the creature is attacking. When checking for assigned lethal damage, take into account damage already marked on the creature and damage from other creatures thats being assigned during the same combat damage step, but not any abilities or effects that might change the amount of damage thats actually dealt. The attacking creatures controller need not assign lethal damage to all those blocking creatures but in that case cant assign any damage to the player or planeswalker its attacking.
raithe000 says... #1
No. The 10/10 only has to assign 3 damage to the Seraph before it can trample over the rest. Basically, trample only cares that you attempted to kill the creature. It doesn't care whether the creature would die, or if the damage will be prevented.
March 6, 2014 3:53 p.m.