Savageborn Hydra ability at instant speed with Hypersonic Dragon in play?

Asked by Ilovespiders 12 years ago

Since Hypersonic Dragon says you can cast sorcerys as though they had flash, does that mean I could use a sorcery-only time ability since I could cast sorcerys as though they had flash?

Absinthman says... Accepted answer #1

No. Hypersonic Dragon only allows you to cast sorcery cards as though they had flash. It does not say anything about allowing you to activate abilities regardless of their timing restrictions. Abilities, even though restricted to sorcery speed, are not spells.

May 1, 2013 8:41 p.m.

TridenT says... #2

It would appear Absinthman is correct, even though it kinda defies logic in the wordings of the Dragon and Hydra. The important rule, I believe, is here:

307.5. If a spell, ability, or effect states that a player can do something only "any time he or she could cast a sorcery," it means only that the player must have priority, it must be during the main phase of his or her turn, and the stack must be empty.

Basically, changing when the sorcery spells in your hand can be cast (or as stated, just the fact that they can be cast with Flash now) won't affect the phrase "any time he or she could cast a sorcery", which is just a shorter phrase for the rule quoted above.

May 1, 2013 8:53 p.m.

Devonin says... #3

Yes and No, TridenT

The Dragon doesn't say "You may cast sorceries any time you could cast an instant" it says "You may cast sorcery spells as though they had flash" that's the key distinction. If it replaced the timing of when you could cast sorceries, I'd suggest you could do other "only at sorcery speed" things with the new timing, but this ability functionally says "Add the Flash keyword ability to all Sorceries you control" which doesn't actually change the timing.

May 1, 2013 9:11 p.m.

Absinthman says... #4

Also a small detail (not really relevant). Hypersonic Dragon was printed with a mistake in its wording. Oracle text states "You may cast sorcery cards as though they had flash".

May 1, 2013 9:47 p.m.

Kogarashi says... #5

Even then, the printed text says "sorcery spells." Savageborn Hydra 's ability is not a spell.

May 1, 2013 10:01 p.m.

This discussion has been closed