Ruling help: Field Marshal

Asked by TheOldNose 8 years ago

So I'm building an abzan soldiers deck in modern (obviously), and I'm including the card Field Marshal. The text on the card declares that other soldiers I control have +1+1 and First Strike. Does Field Marshal gain this bonus as well, or not because it is not another creature.

Bonus question, If I use Preeminent Captain to summon an Anafenza, the Foremost, does the Anafenza place a 1/1 counter, or does it not since it entered attacking?

Thanks for the help!

Pieguy396 says... #1

Field Marshal does not get its own bonus, and Anafenza does not place a counter, both for the reasons you stated.

September 13, 2016 9:11 p.m.

Raging_Squiggle says... Accepted answer #2

Whenever a card says "other" (things) get (something), it doesn't include itself. Simple as that.

Because Anafenza, the Foremost was brought in tapped and attacking, her ability does not trigger because the time for declaring attackers (the trigger condition for her ability) has already passed. Abilities cannot retroactively trigger.

September 13, 2016 10:16 p.m.

TheOldNose says... #3

Raging_SquigglePieguy396

Okay cool thanks guys. I had the rules right in my mind but wanted to make sure just in case I was wrong. Glad to have everything sorted out now! :)

September 14, 2016 12:23 a.m.

This discussion has been closed