Ruling "All creatures have to block if able" (Noble Quarry)

Asked by Plinius 8 years ago

I was having an argue with my dad while i was trying to teach him about Magic. I cast a Noble Quarry in my first main phase together with some other creatures. My dad had 2 creatures on the battlefield, i attacked with all my creatures including noble quarry because i gave it haste by equipping it with Sword of Vengeance. When i declared attack i told him that his 2 creatures are obligated to block my noble quarry. Is this true or not?

Epochalyptik says... Accepted answer #1

Link all cards in your question.
Noble Quarry
Sword of Vengeance

Yes. Noble Quarry's ability states that all creatures able to block it (or the creature it's enchanting, if it's an aura) do so. Any creature that your father controls that is legally able to block Noble Quarry must do so, even if there are other creatures attacking that he'd rather block.

Note that if you cast other creatures in your main phase, only those with haste can attack. If you cast a creature and it doesn't have haste, you couldn't technically attack with "all" of your creatures.

August 19, 2016 9:17 a.m.

This discussion has been closed