Rolling Temblor, Boros Reckoner, and Voice of Resurgence

Asked by Apoptosis 12 years ago

If I have Boros Reckoner in play and my opponent has Voice of Resurgence . I cast Rolling Temblor , dealing two damage to both creatures and killing voice. Can I have Boros Reckoner deal 2 damage to the elemental token that was spawned by the death of voice or does Boros Reckoner have to assign damage prior to the spawning of the token?

cometear says... #1

Ok this is what happens. When you cast Rolling Temblor targeting Voice of Resurgence during your main phase it enters the stack and resolves. Voice of Resurgence dies. Then priority is, by default, passed to you since you are the active player. Now all triggered abilities enter the stack following the APNAP (Active Player Non-Active Player). So first Boros Reckoner 's ability will enter the stack. Then the ability of Voice of Resurgence will enter the stack. If no other spells are cast by either of you than the Voice of Resurgence 's ability will resolve putting the Elemental onto the battlefield under their control. Finally Boros Reckoner 's ability will resolve dealing 2 damage to target creature.

In simplicity, yes, you can target the Elemental since the non-active player's ability resolved first. Have fun!

August 27, 2013 11:14 p.m.

Epochalyptik says... Accepted answer #2

@cometear: That is incorrect.

Because the target is chosen when the ability is put onto the stack, Boros Reckoner 's ability cannot target a creature that is not on the battlefield when the ability is stacked.

August 27, 2013 11:19 p.m.

cometear says... #3

@epochalyptik Oh I see. I'm getting a bit confused with all this stuff. Do you have a good way for me to learn it better?

August 27, 2013 11:23 p.m.

Epochalyptik says... #4

Learn specific kinds of rulings or the rules in general?

I would recommend leafing through the comprehensive rulebook if you need to look up the details of a mechanic, step, or process.

In this case, the process for casting a spell, activating an ability, or handling a triggered ability always involves making modal and targeting choices first. Targets are always chosen when the object is being put onto the stack. In the case of effects that ask you to choose something (but don't target that something), you will make the choice upon resolution.

August 27, 2013 11:28 p.m.

cometear says... #5

I know the basic rules well but when it comes to when things are declared, like exact moments, I foul up. I would be interested in learning them. Thanks for the advice!

August 27, 2013 11:43 p.m.

Apoptosis says... #6

Why does the Boros Reckoner ability go onto the stack first? I believe you, but I thought I might have the choice in deciding the order.

August 28, 2013 12:01 a.m.

Epochalyptik says... #7

You would have the choice if you controlled both abilities. You do not; you control the Boros Reckoner 's ability, and your opponent controls the Voice of Resurgence 's ability. The abilities are put onto the stack in APNAP order, so your ability is stacked first.

August 28, 2013 12:05 a.m.

This discussion has been closed