Question about copying cards
Asked by izzy75 11 years ago
I just read over the rules and I'm curious to my understanding of it is correct or not, so here is exectly what it says word for word:
111.1a A copy of a spell is also a spell, even if it has no card associated with it. See rule 706.10.
111.1b Some effects allow a player to cast a copy of a card; if the player does, that copy is a spell as well. See rule 706.12.
now say I have a Guttersnipe on the field and decided to keep using Reverberate on another Reverberate
In my understanding I feel as though seeing as you are copying another copy card even without having these physical cards to associate the copies of copies that it would be still casting an instant over and over until you drain the opponents life down.
Epochalyptik says... Accepted answer #2
Rules questions belong in the Q&A, which is linked in the header bar. I can't convert this to a question, so it's getting shipped to BE.
You're missing something.
Guttersnipe 's ability only triggers when you cast a spell. Copying a spell creates a copy on the stack, but you don't cast the copy unless the effect specifically instructs you to do so. The only copy effects that instruct you to cast the copies are those effects that copy things that aren't currently spells (such as cards in exile). The casting action takes the copy from its current zone (which is the same as that of the original object) and moves it to the stack.
Reverberate doesn't instruct you to cast the copy because the thing that you're copying is already a spell. Therefore, the copy will already be on the stack, and it will not have been cast. It won't trigger Guttersnipe 's ability. You will, however, get triggers for your original Reverberate s. Also, note that you have to have another spell in addition to the two Reverberate s. You can't cast a spell or ability without declaring enough legal targets for it, so you can't cast Reverberate with an empty stack.
June 6, 2014 1:31 p.m.
vampirelazarus says... #3
riddler89 is correct, those copies are not cast, so they do not trigger Guttersnipe .
June 6, 2014 1:31 p.m.
vampirelazarus says... #4
And epoch ninja'd that wall of text in the amount of time it took me to type my reply....
June 6, 2014 1:33 p.m.
Alright thanks for the info everyone! and yeah my bad I made an account just to ask this question and didn't see the q&a link on the top which is quite funny because its literally right next to the forum link...
riddler89 says... #1
I may be incorrect about this but my understanding is that the copies are not cast, thus do not trigger Guttersnipe .
Also should have probably been asked in the MTG Q&A, not general forum.
June 6, 2014 1:27 p.m.