question about a land drop?
Asked by drhumbra 13 years ago
Lets say I have a Khalni Garden and I drop a land. My opponent has a prodical-pyromancer out. Can I cast a sorcery, like Polymorph on the token from khalini-garden to target the token ebfore he can respond to the drop with his prodical-pyromancer?
godswearhats says... #2
Your opponent is not able to respond to a land drop. From the comprehensive rules:
305.1. A player who has priority may play a land card from his or her hand during a main phase of his or her turn when the stack is empty. Playing a land is a special action; it doesn't use the stack (see rule 115). Rather, the player simply puts the land onto the battlefield. Since the land doesn't go on the stack, it is never a spell, and players can't respond to it with instants or activated abilities.
That means you can play the land and then cast your sorcery.
However, your opponent can respond to your Polymorph sorcery and do 1 damage to your Plant token. This would go on the stack above your sorcery, and then your sorcery would be countered as it no longer has a legal target.
Hope this helps.
July 26, 2011 5:20 p.m.
mozerdozer says... #3
The person above is wrong. While lands do not use the stack, the triggered ability of khalni does and it placing a token onto the battlefield can be responded to when that effect resolves, thus destroying the token before you can cast any sorceries. This works because priority is passed when spells or abilities are cast/activated AND when they resolve, unless they are mana abilities.
July 26, 2011 11:54 p.m.
xxxxxxCronoxxxxxx says... #4
you can only put polymorph onto the stack if there is a legal target on the field and as you put it onto the stack you need to chouse your target
the target does not get distroyed untill polymorph resolves
if the target for polymorph leaves play, it nolonger has a legal target and it fizals and you do not get to search you library for another creature
so it goes like this
you play the land and its ability goes onto the stack
the lands ability resolves putting a 0/1 token into play
if the opponent whants he can kill the token now and asuming you have nothing you can do in responce (but will most likely wait till you make the first move or untill the end of your turn)
you then play polymorph targeting your 0/1 token, polymorph goes onto the stack then mostlikely the opponent will respond to polymorph by activating the pyromanser targeting the 0/1
again asuming you have nothing to respond with the pyromancers ability resolves doing 1 damage to the 0/1
sba's are checked and see the 0/1 has leathal damage and its put into the graveyard
then polymorph trys to resolve but nolonger has a legal target so it fizils and goes into the graveyard doing nothing
with the pyromancer untaped and you having nothing to counter its ability, it is vary unlikely that the token will live long enuf for polymorph to resolve
if for some resone a card would let you play polymorph as an instant you could resond to him when he evenchuly trys to kill the token
July 27, 2011 5:12 a.m.
the lands ability resolves putting a 0/1 token into play
if the opponent whants he can kill the token now and asuming you have nothing you can do in responce (but will most likely wait till you make the first move or untill the end of your turn)
This is not 100% correct. After the ability resolves and token is put on the battlefield, the active player has priority.
116.3b The active player receives priority after a spell or ability (other than a mana ability) resolves
July 27, 2011 10:30 a.m.
so, no matter how you slice it, there is no way to save the token and cast Polymorph in the situation described.
July 27, 2011 12:30 p.m.
xxxxxxCronoxxxxxx says... #7
@ mafteechr
were asuming the only other thing the active player can do is cast polymorph and the opponent cant cast any spells or any other abilitys
@ drhumbra
yes
and you shouldnt mark your self as the accepted answer
drhumbra says... #1
sorry Prodigal Pyromancer
July 26, 2011 5:06 p.m.