Psychosis Crawler and Windfall

Asked by Colten_Lee 9 years ago

Rules Question 404ing

So say I have a Psychosis Crawler out and a Windfall resolves...does the Crawler die?? And can someone explain why or why not??

Maringam says... #1

You discard your hand, you have no cards in your hand, it's toughness is 0, it dies. You draw however much.

December 6, 2015 9:16 p.m.

griffstick says... #2

The spell has to resolve first before, Psychosis Crawler lives .

December 6, 2015 9:19 p.m.

Colten_Lee says... #3

I always assumed it lives bc it would die only as a SBA for having 0 toughness, and SBAs are not checked mid-resolution..that's what I'd assumed anyways.

December 6, 2015 9:20 p.m.

Epochalyptik says... Accepted answer #4

Moved.

It lives. A creature is put into the graveyard for having 0 or less toughness as a state-based action. SBAs do not check in the middle of a spell or ability resolving because no player would receive priority at that time. Therefore, Windfall resolves completely, and the SBA check that happens afterward sees that Psychosis Crawler has a positive toughness.

December 6, 2015 9:25 p.m.

Colten_Lee says... #5

That's what I thought. Thanks for the confirmation and moving the question.

December 6, 2015 9:29 p.m.

This discussion has been closed