Priority question

Asked by abenz419 7 years ago

I was playing a game on cockatrice and this situation came up during the second main phase of my turn. I play a Courser of Kruphix and my opponent gets excited and immediately cast his Hero's Downfall . I say you can't do that in response like that because it's still on the stack you'll have to wait till it hits the board. He realized he jumped the gun and said that's fine. This is where we differed on opinions. I said after a spell resolves on the stack the active player retains priority so that means once it hit the battlefield (and SBA's were checked) I would be the one holding priority. With nothing else on the stack to resolve, I said that meant I could play my land and gain the life from the coursers ability and possibly cast something else before I would have to pass priority back to him. He actually agreed that I retained priority after the courser resolved and hit the battlefield but he contended that I would again have to pass priority before I could play my land. Are either of these two options correct?

Rhadamanthus says... Accepted answer #1

If he agrees that you have priority again after Courser of Kruphix resolves (which is correct), then why wouldn't you be able to play your land? You have priority, it's a main phase on your turn, the stack is empty, and you haven't played a land yet this turn. You were right.

May 27, 2014 5:31 p.m.

abenz419 says... #2

that's what I thought but I said whatever I've tried to explain how it works to you and I'm tired of typing and then left the game. No point in dealing with all that for no reason, but then I figured I better make double check that I was right just in case lol.

May 27, 2014 5:40 p.m.

This discussion has been closed