Praetor's Grasp

Asked by beforecombatdamage 13 years ago

If you Praetor's GraspMTG Card: Praetor's Grasp an opponent's commander, where does it go?

hunter9000 says... #1

Whenever a commander goes to the graveyard or exile zone, it's owner can choose to use a replacement effect to put it in the command zone instead. Your opponent would definitely choose to do that, so all you would accomplish is tutoring their commander out of their library for them :). They could let it get exiled face down, in which case it would be like any other card you used it on.

May 6, 2012 9:41 a.m.

Rhadamanthus says... Accepted answer #2

@hunter9000: The problem with that is that if it's exiled face down, there's no way for the owner to know if the card is his commander. There's actually a special rule that was added specifically to address this situation:

903.13. If a card is put into the exile zone face down from anywhere, and a player is allowed to look at that card in exile, the player must immediately do so. If it's a commander owned by another player, the player that looked at it turns it face up and puts it into the command zone.

May 6, 2012 10:09 a.m.

Ohthenoises says... #3

@Rhadamanthus so in this case what would happen? Praetor's GraspMTG Card: Praetor's Grasp doesn't say that you may look at it whenever you want it says you may play it whenever you want.

Since the card doesn't allow you to look at the card the rule you quoted doesn't really apply does it? Would it stay there?

I would say that it would stay in the exiled zone because the rule is specific about "If any player is allowed to look at it and it is a commander turn it face up and in their command zone." Praetor's GraspMTG Card: Praetor's Grasp doesn't state that you are allowed to look at it.

May 6, 2012 10:52 a.m.

linkofhyrule says... #4

Praetor's GraspMTG Card: Praetor's Grasp does say you may look at it: "You may look at and play that card for as long as it remains exiled."

May 6, 2012 11:04 a.m.

Ohthenoises says... #5

oh oops missed that part forgive the misread .. thanks

May 6, 2012 11:29 a.m.

BrokenZygoma says... #6

And if that player doesn't put it in the command zone knowing it is a commander owned by another player, it's considered cheating.

May 6, 2012 2:12 p.m.

zandl says... #7

Note: Players won't always return their Commanders to their Commander Zones. See: Child of AlaraMTG Card: Child of Alara, which needs to hit the graveyard in order to trigger.

Also, Reanimator-style decks will typically keep their Commanders in their graveyard to allow free or discounted casting costs as opposed to the alternative heightened casting cost.

May 7, 2012 2:52 a.m.

Epochalyptik says... #8

Direct from the CR:

903.13. If a card is put into the exile zone face down from anywhere, and a player is allowed to look at that card in exile, the player must immediately do so. If it's a commander owned by another player, the player that looked at it turns it face up and puts it into the command zone.

May 7, 2012 5:34 a.m.

This discussion has been closed