Phyrexian Obliterator vs Little Girl... What happens?
Asked by Metroid_Hybrid 11 years ago
I saw someone ask this question on Gatherer, but no one answered..
"What happens when you block this with Little Girl ? Do you have to sac half a permanent?"
Now obviously the "Un-sets" aren't legal anywhere past the kitchen table (so to speak), and therefore I doubt anyone I know would seriously be in a position to need to know, but I can't help but be curious..
So I'm pretty sure you can't sac half a permanent, but what would technically happen? Does the poor Little Girl just get indiscriminately trampled over? And how much damage gets through? 4?4-and-a-half?5?
Arachnarchist says... #3
You take 4 and a half damage, then you rip a permanent in half and sac half of it. At which point the other half will be removed from the game for not being an actual card.
February 8, 2014 9:26 a.m.
Rhadamanthus says... #4
If you don't want to rip up your cards, you could put the permanent halfway into the graveyard and then play it at 1/2 of its effectiveness until something sends the other half into the graveyard. Since we're in Un-Land, we might as well get creative.
4 1/2 damage will trample over.
February 8, 2014 10:32 a.m.
billpasdmf says... #5
Regardless of the correct answer, if you're going to cast Little Girl then you should have to also be subjected on a special case basis to the old 'Mana Burn' rule, wherein you would take 1/2 a point of damage, That is to say you are not simultaneously casting two Little Girl s.
February 8, 2014 11:59 a.m.
The rules says that when some card try to do something impossible, it will make what is possible and leave the rest (like, discard 3 cards and you have only 2, you cant discard 3, but will discard what is possible, in this case, 2 cards)
Well, in this case, if you have a Little Girl alive in the battlefield, sac it, cuz it is only a half criature anyway
If you dont have any other Little Girl , just move on
February 8, 2014 1:01 p.m.
Maro, the un-Rules manager, has said something to the effect of "You sacrifice half a permanent, and the other half sorta has to follow along" on his Tumblr (but it's kinda hard to find, because goodness gracious this guy answers a lot of questions).
February 8, 2014 2:03 p.m.
billpasdmf, I tapped City of Ass for 1 1/2 white mana.
February 8, 2014 2:49 p.m.
PrimeEpoch says... #9
You'd have to round up, unless you want ripped cards :P
February 8, 2014 6:57 p.m.
nighthawk101 says... #10
I read something on Gatherer like..
"If an un card would cause you to draw 1/2 a card, you get a token that says "1/2 card" in your hand. If you have two of the tokens, they are saced and you draw a card."
Something similar may apply here.
February 8, 2014 7:42 p.m.
Rhadamanthus says... #11
Do you remember which card's Gatherer entry you saw that on? The Unhinged FAQTIWDAWCC doesn't seem to address the situation.
February 8, 2014 8:13 p.m.
nighthawk101 says... Accepted answer #12
I found the post on Little Girl 's Gatherer page, and it actually has an answer:
"If you draw/discard half a card, you get a counter with "+.5 cards" (and discard one if discarding). If you have 2 of those counters, remove them both and draw a card.
If you sacrifice half a permanent, you sacrifice one, then you don't the next time.
Half a +1/+1 counter is a +.5/+.5 counter."
Problem solved! :D
February 8, 2014 8:42 p.m.
Rhadamanthus says... #13
That's not really a ruling, that's just a post by some guy. It's a good idea for how to handle the situation, but unless "azure_drake222222" is a WotC employee I wouldn't count it as the "official" way to handle it.
February 9, 2014 11:58 a.m.
nighthawk101 says... #14
True, but it does seem like the best solution, aside from using "sac half a permanent" counters.
Unless you want to rip your cards in half.
Mazzuno says... #1
I'm just typing so i can subscribe to this and also find out this answer lol.
February 8, 2014 2:21 a.m.