Orvar, the All-Form stack interaction
Asked by Birdley9525 4 years ago
I was wondering if it is possible to set up a stack reaction with the following: Fblthp, the Lost, Orvar, the All-Form, and Jump so that Jump targets Fblthp, the Lost, triggering Orvar, the All-Form, but then triggering Fblthp, the Lost so he gets shuffled into the deck, the copy gets created, and the legend rule does not apply.
Thank you!
Digging further, I did find card specific rulings in the Kaldheim release notes that have not yet been imported into Gatherer:
As the first triggered ability tries to resolve, the spell that caused it to trigger and that spell's targets are checked again. Ignore any target of the spell that has left the battlefield by that point. If all of the permanents you controlled that were targets have left the battlefield by that point, the triggered ability will do nothing and no token will be created. If at least one permanent you control that's a target is still on the battlefield, the triggered ability will resolve, even if that permanent is now an illegal target for the spell.
Neotrup says... Accepted answer #1
No. Orvar, the All-Form's triggered ability uses an intervening if clause. This means in order for it to trigger or resolve, the spell needs to be targeting one or more creatures you control. If you stack the triggers such that Fblthp, the Lost's ability shuffles him in before Orvar's ability resolves, the if clause will not be met and the ability will not resolve. If you stack the abilities such that Orvar's resolves first, you'll need to deal with state based actions and the Legend rule before you can resolve Fblthp's ability.
January 26, 2021 3:35 p.m.