On the monument cards from amonkhet, does the mana only apply to specifically colorless mana?

Asked by minifrog 11 months ago

Like on bontus monument it says black creature spells cost one less to cast, would that make tithe drinker, which costs one white and one black mana, cost one less, or would it not apply?

Raging_Squiggle says... Accepted answer #1

Bontu's Monument, Tithe Drinker

The monument makes your creatures spells of the indicated color cost “one generic mana less”. It does NOT reduce the amount of colored mana required to pay. In this case, it well not affect Tithe Drinker’s casting cost at all since it does not contain any generic mana.

If you were to cast Butcher Ghoul, however, you would only have to pay since the monument reduces the generic mana cost by 1.

August 5, 2020 7:17 p.m.

minifrog says... #2

Raging_Squiggle Alrighty, thank you!

August 5, 2020 7:26 p.m.

Please login to comment