Molten-Tail Masticore, upkeep and mana abilities.
Asked by cooknathan 13 years ago
First thing, if I have a Molten-Tail Masticore and at the begining of my upkeep I do not discard a card can I still activate its ability before it sac's.
I imagine it would work much like Sundial of the Infinite does for end steps, that is, I untap my permanents, Triggered abilities go on the stack, I get priority and use its activated ability, activated ability resolves followed by its static ability and then it goes to the graveyard. I read on a forum that this is not the case...
501.1. The beginning phase consists of three steps, in this order: untap, upkeep, and draw.
- Upkeep Step
503.1. First, any abilities that trigger at the beginning of the upkeep step and any abilities that triggered during the turns untap step go on the stack. (See rule 603, Handling Triggered Abilities.)
503.2. Second, the active player gets priority. Players may cast spells and activate abilities.
Second thing, if I played say 2 elvish-archdruids last turn , would I be able to tap them to use their mana in my upkeep?
Summoning Sickness RuleInformal term for a players inability to attack with a creature or to activate its abilities that include the tap symbol or the untap symbol unless the creature has been under that players control since the beginning of that players most recent turn. See rule 302.6. See also Haste.
Thanks.
Epochalyptik says... Accepted answer #2
Note that the upkeep cost of Molten-Tail Masticore is part of a triggered ability, not a static one.
With the sacrifice trigger on the stack, you may activate its ping ability so long as you can pay the cost for it.
March 16, 2012 10:10 a.m.
Yes. You may tap your Elvish Archdruid s as early as your next turn's upkeep.
cooknathan says... #1
Molten-Tail Masticore
, Elvish Archdruid
You should be able to preview your question before you post lol.
March 16, 2012 9:57 a.m.