Moldgraf Monstrosity, when does it get exiled?

Asked by aargh 13 years ago

The card in question is Moldgraf Monstrosity .. Am I able to mimic vat the card before it gets exiled? I am not sure but I think dies means "goes to the graveyard", and since Mimic Vat says "Whenever a nontoken creature is put into a graveyard from the battlefield, ..." I thought maybe I could imprint it right before the Monstrosity leaves the graveyard.. Also does the fact that it doesn't say "instead" matter (Moldgraf Monstrosity)? Thoughts?

Arachnarchist says... Accepted answer #1

Moldgraf Monstrosity has a triggered ability that triggers upon it being placed in the graveyard. Mimic Vat has a similar triggered ability. You can choose the order in which to apply them. If you apply the Monstrosity's first and then the Mimic Vat 's, the mimic vat's will resolve first.

So, yes you can exile Moldgraf Monstrosity with the Mimic Vat , and you will get to return 2 creature cards at random to the battlefield.

September 25, 2011 3:28 p.m.

aargh says... #2

Wow thanks for the speedy answer.. Do I get the 2 creatures every time I make a token afterwards though?

September 25, 2011 6:11 p.m.

Epochalyptik says... #3

603.3b If multiple abilities have triggered since the last time a player received priority, each player, in APNAP order, puts triggered abilities he or she controls on the stack in any order he or she chooses. (See rule 101.4.) Then the game once again checks for and resolves state-based actions until none are performed, then abilities that triggered during this process go on the stack. This process repeats until no new state-based actions are performed and no abilities trigger. Then the appropriate player gets priority.

Since Moldgraf Monstrosity and Mimic Vat 's abilities both trigger simultaneously (that is, when Moldgraf Monstrosity dies), you as the controller of both abilities choose the order in which they are placed onto the stack.

If you order them so that Vat's trigger resolves first, you have the option of imprinting Monstrosity on it. If you don't Monstrosity's ability will resolve, exiling Monstrosity and returning two creature cards from your graveyard to play at random. If you do, Monstrosity will be imprinted on Vat, and Monstrosity's ability will return two creature cards from your graveyard to play at random.

If you order them so that Monstrosity's trigger resolves first, the ability will exile Monstrosity and return two creature cards from your graveyard to play at random. Vat's ability will do nothing.

September 25, 2011 6:14 p.m.

Epochalyptik says... #4

You will not get the creatures from the token's ability unless the token can somehow die. Vat causes the token to be exiled at the end of the turn, which will not cause an on-death ability to trigger.

September 25, 2011 6:15 p.m.

Arachnarchist says... #5

The Mimic Vat only specifies that the token will be exiled at the end of the turn. It doesn't say "or if it would leave play". Therefore if the token dies it will be put into the graveyard and then cease to exist due to State based affects. But since it was placed in the graveyard the Moldgraf Monstrosity 's ability will trigger.

So, in short, you get 2 more creatures if and only if the token dies before the end of the turn.

September 25, 2011 6:52 p.m.

aargh says... #6

I'm starting to like the bullying I can do with a hasty 8/8 trampler that'll fetch me creatures if someone wants to do anything about it.. Thanks everyone

September 25, 2011 11:34 p.m.

This discussion has been closed