Lithomancer Focus and Trample interaction

Asked by magnetcrocodile 9 years ago

Let's say I have a Dromoka Warrior on my side of the field and the opponent has the dreaded Reality Smasher on his side of the field. He attack, I block with my 3/1 and cast Lithomancer's Focus on it. Since it prevent all damage dealt, does Reality Smasher can assign the leftovers trample damage(2 points) to me or does my warrior soak up all the damage?

merrowMania says... Accepted answer #1

Trample only looks to see what would be necessary to assign lethal damage to all blockers. It does not care if that damage will actually be dealt to them. Therefore, yes, your opponent can and should trample over for 2.

February 29, 2016 7:21 a.m.

Thanks for clearing that up. I've been looking for some sideboard options and Lithomancer's Focus is great in this eldrazi-infested meta so I'd like to avoid any confusion.

February 29, 2016 7:26 a.m.

merrowMania says... #3

No problem. The Q&A will always be here to help with rules issues. Have a great day/afternoon/evening/night :)

February 29, 2016 7:33 a.m.

This discussion has been closed