Legendary ruling and clone effects
Asked by Terramune 13 years ago
Ok so I had a random modern problem happen in a test deck. The situation was this. The opponent had a horde-of-notion on the filed while I have renegade-doppleganger. I play Phantasmal Image to copy notions. Will the doppleganger be able to copy notions and stay on the field or does the legendary rule happen after the chain of events??
rckclimber777 says... Accepted answer #2
So we'll work through this one slowly.
Phantasmal Image comes in as a copy of Horde of Notions . Renegade Doppelganger triggers and goes on the stack. Then Status based effects are checked. The legendary rule applies here so Phantasmal image and horde of notions go away. Then the trigger resolves.
This ruling from the oracle says that the renegade doppelganger will manage to successfully copy the horde of notions.
If a creature enters the battlefield under your control and Renegade Doppelganger's ability triggers, it can become a copy of that creature when the ability resolves even if that creature has left the battlefield by then. If it has, its last existence on the battlefield is checked to see what it was (specifically, if it was itself or if it was copying something else).
When all is said and done you have a renegade doppelganger who is a Horde of Notions
February 26, 2012 8:46 p.m.
rckclimber777 says... #4
Caley you forgot that doppelganger's ability is a triggered ability and goes on the stack, but before it resolves the image and horde of notions go away because state-based actions must be checked before resolving any further item on the stack.
February 26, 2012 8:49 p.m.
KrazyCaley says... #5
I did. Deleted my own comment as soon as I saw yours and headdesked. I forgot completely about the "whenever."
February 26, 2012 8:50 p.m.
rckclimber777 says... #6
Its all good happens to all of us. At first glance I was pretty sure all 3 would be gone too.
KrazyCaley says... #1
Horde of Notions
. Renegade Doppelganger
.
February 26, 2012 8:45 p.m.