Keiga, the Tide Star & clone effects.
Asked by carpecanum 11 years ago
If I Clone
or Infinite Reflection
to copy my own Keiga, the Tide Star
can I kill of each copy (because of the legendary rule) while taking control of a target creature each time (due to Keiga's ability). I guess I should say "Is the Clone still a Keiga when it hits the graveyard".
If you have multiple copies of Keiga, you will be forced to put all but one into your graveyard. This will trigger Keiga's ability, even if the card put into the graveyard is not actually Keiga, the Tide Star. You will still be able to take control of target creature for each Keigan put into your graveyard.
February 6, 2014 12:59 p.m.
GreatSword says... #3
Whenever a card refers to itself by name, it's shorthand for "this object".
So you could read the ability as "whenever this object is put into a graveyard from the battlefield, you may gain control of target creature." , which makes it very clear this ability will work the way you want it to.
February 6, 2014 1:15 p.m.
Rhadamanthus says... Accepted answer #4
To give the most technical answer to the last question in your post: the copy isn't a Keiga when it hits the graveyard, but that doesn't matter here. "Dies" triggers are a special kind of "leaves the battlefield" trigger. Abilities like this trigger from the battlefield and they use information about the last moment the object was on the battlefield to determine if and how they trigger. The copy was still a Keiga during its last moment on the battlefield, so the "dies" ability triggers.
February 6, 2014 1:48 p.m.
Keiga's ability can be taken advantage of by the legendary rule. It is one of the most genius, creative, and at the same time cheap ideas i have every seen.
February 6, 2014 7:16 p.m.
If I'm understanding this right, enchanting Keiga with Infinite Reflection will ultimately lead to a one-sided board wipe (other than tokens) once you have at least 1 non-token creature in play other than the original Keiga. With Reflection in play, every creature you gain control of becomes a copy of Keiga, which will then be placed in its owner's GY as a state-based action, allowing you to gain control of another and rinse and repeat.
February 6, 2014 7:26 p.m.
Rhadamanthus says... #7
Infinite Reflection only makes things become copies when it enters the battlefield and as they enter the battlefield. Things already on the battlefield that you take control of from other players won't become copies of the enchanted creature.
billpasdmf says... #1
I want to say that when the cloned version of Keiga hits the graveyard, the ability should trigger and you'll gain control of another creature as a result. From that point on it would still just be a clone, for purposes of recursion.
February 6, 2014 12:59 p.m.