Jazal Goldmane activated ability and combat phase

Asked by UmbrotheUmbreon 9 years ago

A debate my friend and I have is how Jazal's ability works. My question is this

Can you activate Jazal's ability during main phase and have it take effect during combat phase?

Example: Activate during main phase 1, then attack with 5 creatures, do they get +5/+5 or +0/+0?

Epochalyptik says... #1

No. When Jazal Goldmane's ability resolves, all creatures that are currently attacking creatures get +X/+X until end of turn. If you control no attacking creatures, the ability will do nothing.

January 1, 2016 10:26 p.m.

Can you please provide gatherer rulings to support the answer?

January 1, 2016 10:30 p.m.

Epochalyptik says... Accepted answer #3

There are no Gatherer rulings for Jazal Goldmane. But the ability applies when it resolves. It isn't worded such that it would create a delayed triggered ability that triggers when a creature attacks (it would have to read "Until end of turn, whenever a creature you control attacks . . .").

January 1, 2016 11:26 p.m.

Gidgetimer says... #4

611.2c explains how to determine what continuous effects apply too. I'm also going to include the examples given since they clarify a good deal.

611.2c If a continuous effect generated by the resolution of a spell of ability modifies the characteristics or changes the controller of any objects, the set of objects it affects is determined when that continuous effect begins. After that point, the set wont change. (Note that this works differently than a continuous effect from a static ability.) A continuous effect generated by the resolution of a spell or ability that doesnt modify the characteristics or change the controller of any objects modifies the rules of the game, so it can affect objects that werent affected when that continuous effect began. If a single continuous effect has parts that modify the characteristics or changes the controller of any objects and other parts that dont, the set of objects each part applies to is determined independently.

Example: An effect that reads All white creatures get +1/+1 until end of turn gives the bonus to all permanents that are white creatures when the spell or ability resolves even if they change color laterand doesnt affect those that enter the battlefield or turn white afterward.

Example: An effect that reads Prevent all damage creatures would deal this turn doesnt modify any objects characteristics, so its modifying the rules of the game. That means the effect will apply even to damage from creatures that werent on the battlefield when the continuous effect began. It also affects damage from permanents that become creatures later in the turn.

You can extrapolate fairly easily from the rule and the first example that when Jazal Goldmane's ability resolves attacking creatures you control get the buff and creatures that become attacking later will not be affected.

January 1, 2016 11:39 p.m.

This discussion has been closed