Jaya Ballard, Task Mage + Basilisk Collar

Asked by LeChaps 13 years ago

Like the title of this subject says, if I equip Jaya Ballard, Task Mage with a Basilisk Collar and perform her last ability, do I kill every creatures own by the targeted players and gain 6 life for each?

Epochalyptik says... Accepted answer #1

Yes. Note that her last ability does not target. It deals 6 damage to each creature and each player.

When a source deals damage, the game takes into account any abilities/properties of that source. A source with deathtouch will kill any creature it deals damage to unless it is indestructible, and a source with lifelink will cause its controller to gain life equal to the damage dealt.

702.2b Any nonzero amount of combat damage assigned to a creature by a source with deathtouch is considered to be lethal damage, regardless of that creature's toughness. See rules 510.1cd.

702.14b Damage dealt by a source with lifelink causes that source's controller, or its owner if it has no controller, to gain that much life (in addition to any other results that damage causes). See rule 119.3.

October 24, 2011 1:54 p.m.

squire1 says... #2

yes and no. There is no target players and creatures. Each player including yourself and each creature, including yours, have 6 damage dealt.

All of those creatures, including Jaya Ballard, Task Mage , will die, unless they are indestructable and you will gain 6 life for each creature and each player that was dealt damage this way.

October 24, 2011 1:56 p.m.

squire1 says... #3

he ninja'd me

October 24, 2011 1:59 p.m.

This discussion has been closed