Is soulshift checked on resolution or trigger?

Asked by Idoneity 2 years ago

I am currently building around Kodama of the Center Tree, and I am curious if the soulshift trigger is checked when it is put onto the stack or when it is resolving.

For example, if I control five spirits including my Kodama, then I sacrifice it bringing my spirit count to four, will the trigger consider the value 5 and able to target the Kodama, or will the value be 4 and considered unable to target the Kodama?

Gidgetimer says... Accepted answer #1

It counts itself. The first ruling on Kodama of the Center Tree:

Soulshift is a leaves the battlefield trigger, so the gamestate is referenced immediately before the Soulshift trigger to determine the value of X. Soulshift X includes Kodama of the Center Tree. So, X is always at least 1.

February 24, 2023 7:12 a.m.

Idoneity says... #2

Lovely. Thank you!

February 24, 2023 1:08 p.m.

Please login to comment