If two ordeals are on a creature with one +1/+1 counters, do they both pop at first attack?

Asked by xiao.wen 11 years ago

Fiendslayer Paladin has two Ordeal of Heliod s on it and one +1/+1 counter. he attacks, does ordealA add a counter and sit, then ordealB adds a counter then triggers its sacrifice, or do they both pop and sacrifice?

nighthawk101 says... Accepted answer #1

When you attack with Fiendslayer Paladin , you get to choose the order the Ordeal of Heliod triggers go on the stack. The second trigger (Remember the stack is first in, last out) will add a +1/+1 counter, but there are only 2 +1/+1 counters. The first trigger will add a +1/+1 counter, then be sacrificed because there are 3 +1/+1 counters.

April 5, 2014 2:33 p.m.

Epochalyptik says... #2

Remember that abilities resolve completely, and one at a time. Each ability will only see the information that exists as it resolves; neither one can look into the future to know that there will be three counters at a later time.

April 5, 2014 3:24 p.m.

xiao.wen says... #3

thanks, you guys rule!

April 5, 2014 3:43 p.m.

This discussion has been closed