If I have Permanent A on the battlefield with a static ability that affects card B in my hand, can I cast card B (utilizing Permanent A's effect) as a response to my opponent playing a card that destroys Permanent A?

Asked by badhacker 3 years ago

Let's use the following example.

My T2: I have one land from T1 already

i. I play a land

ii. I play Ballyrush Banneret

My T3: I have two lands from T1 and T2

i. I play a land.

ii. Opponent plays Doom Blade

iii. I respond by playing Thoughtweft Trio

Thoughtweft Trio costs 4 CMC, but Ballyrush Banneret reduces the cost by 1 CMC. So on my turn 3, if my opponent decided to play a card to destroy my Ballyrush Banneret, does it's static ability (which does not go on the stack) still be valid for me to cast Thoughtweft Trio for 3 CMC?

Could you please post the Gather rule that is applicable to this scenario?

Rhadamanthus says... Accepted answer #1

Your scenario can't happen exactly in the way it's described. Playing a land is a special action that doesn't cause you to pass priority to your opponent.

After you play your land on T3 you still have priority to take the next action. You can choose to cast Thoughtweft Trio for , and if your opponent responds with Doom Blade on Ballyrush Banneret the game won't back up and "un-apply" the Banneret's effect or otherwise undo your casting of the spell. (you might have a problem when it's time to champion a kithkin, though...)

If you do something else after playing your land instead (moving to Combat, for example) and your opponent responds with Doom Blade on the Banneret then you're not allowed to respond by casting Thoughtweft Trio because it doesn't have Flash.

September 13, 2017 5:41 p.m.

DJSeras says... #2

There is a minor problem with your scenario in that there is no time after the casting of Doomblade and before the resolution of Doomblade that you may cast Thoughtweft Trio, if you had a card like Teferi, Mage of Zhalfir out then your scenario would be valid.

Therefore assuming you have Teferi, Mage of Zhalfir in play or another similar permanent or effect when all of this is happening, then yes you would be able to cast Thoughtweft Trio in response to your opponent casting Doomblade.

September 13, 2017 6:04 p.m.

Please login to comment