If I counter an overloaded Cyclonic Rift with Plasm Capture, does it give me 2 seven mana or two?
Asked by chrizzilla 11 years ago
I was reading the gatherer rules on Cyclonic Rift , noticed this:
4/15/2013: Casting a spell with overload doesn't change that spell's mana cost. You just pay the overload cost instead.and was wondering, if someone pays the alternate overload cost for it, and I counter with a Plasm Capture , will I get seven mana or two?
The converted mana cost is always the cost printed in the top right. An alternate cost is separate from the mana cost. You would get 2 mana from Plasm Capture .
September 16, 2013 4:24 p.m.
Yes, an overloaded Cyclonic Rift will have a CMC of 7 while on the stack, so casting Plasm Capture on it will grant you 7 mana on your next precombat main phase.
September 16, 2013 4:24 p.m.
DeathByDragons says... Accepted answer #4
702.95a Overload is a keyword that represents two static abilities: one that functions from any zone in which the spell with overload can be cast and another that functions while the card is on the stack. Overload [cost] means "You may choose to pay [cost] rather than pay this spells mana cost" and "If you chose to pay this spells overload cost, change its text by replacing all instances of the word 'target' with the word 'each.'" Using the overload ability follows the rules for paying alternative costs in rules 601.2b and 601.2eg.
The overload cost is paid "rather than paying the spells 'mana cost'" Plasm Capture states that you may add mana to your mana pool equal to the spells mana cost. Cyclonic Rift s converted mana cost is 2. So you would get 2 mana. Hope this helped.
September 16, 2013 4:25 p.m.
DeathByDragons says... #6
@meecht The gatherer ruling states that "Casting a spell with overload doesn't change that spells mana cost. You just pay the overload cost instead."
September 16, 2013 4:28 p.m.
harrydemon117 says... #7
It would only be 2. Now, if you counter a "fused" spell where both sides were cast you would get all of the mana from that however as it becomes a "combined" spell
chrizzilla says... #1
Sorry, I don't understand why the formatting on that messed up...
September 16, 2013 4:21 p.m.