If I cast Vines of Vastwood, could my opponant cast Condemn and make VofV fizzle?

Asked by Minathia 14 years ago

If I cast Vines of Vastwood, could my opponant cast Condemn and make VofV fizzle? Would I get the extra +4 life from VofV's kicker?

What if they condemn, then I cast VofV, then they cast another condemn?

I think VofV would fizzle and I would not get the extra life, but it seems kinda crazy, because of the "target creature cannot be the target of spells or abilities this turn." I just started learning about the stack.

MagnorCriol says... Accepted answer #1

You're correct, unfortunate though it is.

In both of your scenarios, the Condemn that's above your Vines on the stack resolves first and gets rid of your creature, so your Vines has nothing to target when it comes in and is countered for lack of a legal target, or "fizzles."

Because it hasn't resolved yet, none of its effects apply - so no +4/+4 and no "super-shroud".

In the second scenario, once your Vines has resolved, their initial Condemn tries to resolve and also fizzles, just like your Vines did.

May 2, 2011 1:14 a.m.

Siegfried says... #2

Vines of Vastwood

1) If your opponent casts Condemn in response to your Vines, the Condemn is put on the stack after the Vines and will resolve first. Your creature will get removed from the battlefield before Vines has any effect. When it comes time for Vines to resolve, its target has disappeared, so it gets countered by the game rules.

2) Same scenario, the second Condemn will resolve first and remove your creature.

May 2, 2011 1:16 a.m.

Minathia says... #3

Thanks for your help!

May 2, 2011 11:13 p.m.

This discussion has been closed