If Ensoul Artifact is on an equipped artifact card, can I attack with it?

Asked by RobinSong 10 years ago

Ensoul Artifact is enchanted onto Fleetfeather Sandals , which in turn is equipped onto another creature I control, Can I attack with both of them?

As a side question; is it possible in the example above to equip the enchanted equipment onto itself? Why/why not?

Devonin says... #1

If an equipment becomes a creature for any reason, it is removed from the creature it was equipping and put into its owner's graveyard.

Equipment which is a creature cannot equip anything.

August 2, 2014 8:28 a.m.

Devonin says... Accepted answer #2

Oops, I was sure I read, though was confused by, a ruling where an equipped equipment which became a creature was put into the graveyard.

Regardless.

  1. As soon as the equipment becomes a creature, it falls off whatever it was equipping. So you can attack with the animated sandals, and the creature to which they were formerly equipped, but the creature is no longer equipped by them and so doesn't have flying or haste. Of note, the animated sandals -also- won't have flying or haste as they only give those qualities to an equipped creature.

  2. 301.5c An Equipment that's also a creature can't equip a creature. An Equipment can't equip itself.

August 2, 2014 8:39 a.m.

Epochalyptik says... #3

@Devonin: Only Auras that become creatures are put into their owner's graveyard. Equipment can exist as standalone permanents, so they simply become unattached.

August 2, 2014 12:12 p.m.

This discussion has been closed