Hows does Wild Pair view Traproot Kami?

Asked by uk00121 9 years ago

Situation: there are total of 6 forests in play and I have Wild Pair on the table.

If I were to play Traproot Kami it would have a 0/6 when it hits the battlefield, so the Wild Pair should allow me to pull a 3/3, 2/4, 4/2,etc.

What I don't know is can I use it to pull a second Traproot Kami since the card itself is 0/* ?? How is an asterix treated when it is still in your library and not on the battlefield?

GreatSword says... Accepted answer #1

Traproot Kami has a "characteristic-defining ability" (CDA) for its toughness. CDA's are 'on' at all times, in all zones, and are constantly updated every time a value for them needs to be checked. So even in your library, Traproot Kami in your described situation will be a 0/6, and a valid choice for Wild Pair .

June 10, 2014 9:09 a.m.

Rhadamanthus says... #2

So you know: an asterisk will default to zero if it's based on a choice that hasn't been made. For example, a Sewer Nemesis in any zone other than the battlefield will be a 0/0 because there's no "chosen player".

June 10, 2014 9:47 a.m.

This discussion has been closed