How does Milling work?

Asked by TowerOfBad 14 years ago

Here is the scenario: I have one card left in my library and you cast Tome Scour on me, making me dump five cards. What happens?

A player told me that Tome Scour can't actively make someone lose the game. That they can only lose once it is their draw step.

This is not how I've been playing for a while now.

If this is true? What rule causes it?

Thank you.

mafteechr says... Accepted answer #1

Your friend is almost correct. Here is the rule:

104.3c If a player is required to draw more cards than are left in his or her library, he or she draws the remaining cards, and then loses the game the next time a player would receive priority.

You can zero cards in your library, however, as soon as you try to draw a card, whether it be your draw step or a spell causing you to draw, you lose.

February 21, 2011 10:10 a.m.

jewpop42 says... #2

so if you have out Dragon Appeasement on the field you should be ok unless they make you draw somehow

February 21, 2011 11:13 a.m.

jewpop42 says... #3

so if you have out Dragon Appeasement on the field you should be ok unless they make you draw somehow

February 21, 2011 11:13 a.m.

TowerOfBad says... #4

That's quite interesting jewpop. I play against a lot of really good mill decks. My typical response is to put Elixir of Immortality s into everything, but that would also be a good safeguard against it.

Amusingly, my entire group of 8+ people have been playing this rule wrong. I've lost dozens of times due to being milled with Tome Scour. (Though, the vast majority of the time, it wouldn't make a difference anyway)

February 21, 2011 11:56 a.m.

supernick says... #5

i thought it was at ur draw step u lose even if something makes you draw cards.

February 21, 2011 11:57 a.m.

jewpop42 says... #6

nope its whenever you have to draw and you cant

February 21, 2011 11:58 a.m.

emblasochist says... #7

For clarification, Dragon Appeasement will not save you from being milled to death when an opponent forces you to draw more cards than are in your library. Skipping your draw step does not prevent you from being milled to death, because your opponent can still force you to draw cards at times that are not your draw phase. If your opponent manages to card:Blue Sun's Zenith you for, let's say, 150 cards, if you don't have 150 cards in your library, you still lose once priority is passed after drawing the last card in your library. That is because that rule is not solely tied to the draw phase.

"104.3c If a player is required to draw more cards than are left in his or her library, he or she draws the remaining cards, and then loses the game the next time a player would receive priority.

You can zero cards in your library, however, as soon as you try to draw a card, whether it be your draw step or a spell causing you to draw, you lose."

February 22, 2011 10:55 a.m.

jewpop42 says... #8

Haha that's what I said :) ha it saves you from your draw step but that's about it

February 22, 2011 12:19 p.m.

This discussion has been closed