How does Aluren interact with casting from the command zone?

Asked by thataddkid 11 years ago

Say I have an Aluren on the field with an Animar, Soul of Elements in the command zone that has been killed once already. If I were to use Aluren to cast it in, would I have to pay the tax? Whoever answers this, can you provide comprehensive rule citations as well please? This is something my playgroup hits alot and it would be nice to have something on hand to cite. Thank you!

Epochalyptik says... #1

You still have to pay the general tax because you're casting the creature. "Without paying its mana cost" is an alternate cost. You still pay additional costs.

March 3, 2014 10:44 p.m.

Drilnoth says... Accepted answer #2

Epochalyptik is correct, but here's something from the comprehensive rules since you wanted one:

117.9d If an alternative cost is being paid to cast a spell, any additional costs, cost increases, and cost reductions that affect that spell are applied to that alternative cost. (See rule 601.2e.)

This shows that additional costs are determined after alternative costs.

By the way, if you're looking to find something in the comp. rules, consider just doing a text search in them. Searching for "without paying its mana cost" led me 117.9, even though I didn't know where such a rule was before. The comprehensive rules are actually quite well laid out in most cases.

March 3, 2014 11:03 p.m.

This discussion has been closed