How do I figure devotion with multi-cast cards?
Asked by abdulbaqr 7 years ago
Ok, so Athreos, God of Passage says that your white + black devotion needs to be 7 or more for him to be a creature...If I drop a Divinity of Pride is my total white+black devotion 10 at that point? Seems like it should be...
For cards with hybrid mana symbols int eh cost, it would only count for one or the other, so you would only get 5 devotion. That being said, if you dropped Divinity of Pride with Athreos on the board, that devotion wouldn't matter, because he would animate.
August 3, 2014 10:16 p.m.
Devotion counts the number of mana symbols in the permanents you control. A hybrid mana symbol is still only one symbol. So with Athreos, God of Passage and Divinity of Pride out, you will have a devotion to black and white of 7 (5 from Divinity of Pride and 2 from Athreos, God of Passage ).
August 3, 2014 10:18 p.m.
Always check the Gatherer rulings before asking a question.
4/26/2014: Your devotion to two colors is equal to the number of mana symbols that are the first color, the second color, or both colors among the mana costs of permanents you control. Specifically, a hybrid mana symbol counts only once toward your devotion to its two colors. For example, if the only nonland permanents you control are Pharika, God of Affliction and Golgari Guildmage (whose mana cost is B/GB/G), your devotion to black and green is four.
August 3, 2014 10:25 p.m.
It's not a huge deal, Epoch; I don't think i wasted a ton of anyone's time.
August 4, 2014 10:23 p.m.
I'm not saying it's a waste of time. I'm saying questions like this can be answered by a quick Gatherer search.
August 4, 2014 10:29 p.m.
I get that, but you are coming off as "look it up, stupid". I think that might be the opposite of what you were going for, so thought I would let you know how you are being perceived.